With ConfigMgr 2012 there are 2 packages used to install the ConfigMgr client. The first package which is called the Configuration Manager Client Package can be found under the Packages node of the Software Library and is used during OSD in the Setup Windows And ConfigMgr step to install the ConfigMgr client. The other package, which is hidden is called Configuration Manager Client Upgrade Package and this package is used when the Client Upgrade feature of ConfigMgr 2012 is enabled. The fact that this package exist can only be determined by looking at the Content Status under Distribution Status in the Monitoring pane for example.
The Client Upgrade functionality provided in ConfigMgr 2012 can be used to upgrade existing ConfigMgr clients already assigned to your Site to a new version. The functionality is not suitable if you have many clients, because it’s an on/off option without any further control in terms of scheduling or collection scoping.
If for some kind of reason the Configuration Manager Client Upgrade Package gets deleted, you cannot recreate it by creating a new one from a package definition file, like you could do with the Configuration Manager Client Package.
Normally when the Configuration Manager Client Upgrade package is deleted, this should be detected and should be regenerated automatically, but if it doesn’t you can create a empty file with the name client.acu and place that file in the inboxes\hman.box folder at the top-level site (either your CAS or PSS). After that check your hman.log to check whether the Client Upgrade package gets updated.
Recently I experienced some strange issues with installing applications during a task sequence, and at this time of writing there is no official fix for this issue in ConfigMgr 2012 only a workaround. It caused me a lot of question marks before i could actually figure out what the problem was.
So, to start let first answer the question about what the symptoms are:
When you install applications you will notice that the task sequence when executed will not install the latest application revision of that application. Instead the application revision of the Application at the time it was added to the task sequence is used, causing either the Task Sequence to fail or an earlier version of the Application ends up being installed.
When looking to the References of your task sequence you will notice that it displays a reference to the latest application revision you have.
This corresponds to the actual revision, which you can view by right clicking on the application and by choosing Revision History. As you can see here Revision 2 corresponds to the /2 behind the Application ID. Read More
Privacy & Cookies Policy
Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly. This category only includes cookies that ensures basic functionalities and security features of the website. These cookies do not store any personal information.
Any cookies that may not be particularly necessary for the website to function and is used specifically to collect user personal data via analytics, ads, other embedded contents are termed as non-necessary cookies. It is mandatory to procure user consent prior to running these cookies on your website.